Upcoming post on the Grimnirsol, ongoing discussion regarding showing submission to the Gods, etc.

I had originally planned to have a post finished by tonight regarding the Grimnirsol story about Odin, how it show’s His patients and His ability to learn from His own mistakes, but that isn’t quite finished yet. Typical me I got dragged into several interesting discussions at once.

One of the discussions I’ve been having with several friends is about how I personally find kneeling, genuflecting and other such actions that show submission to be an intrinsic part of relating to my Gods, while for some of them the opposite is true of their relationships with their Gods.

I asked one of my friends, Bianca, if she could write for me about the reasons why such actions she finds inappropriate in her own relationships, and that post can be found here: http://paininthebum.blogspot.com/2014/03/submission-and-supplication-to-my-gods.html

I’ve also started as a result of that discussion trying to research how exactly the original Norsemen felt about the idea of kneeling before a God. I don’t believe my approach will change either way, nor that my friends whose approach is opposite should change theirs, but I am curious to know if the practice has anything to do with the origins of Heathenry, or if it’s something only incorporated by myself and others since the days of Christianity or perhaps other influences that I have not considered.

One response to “Upcoming post on the Grimnirsol, ongoing discussion regarding showing submission to the Gods, etc.

Leave a Reply

